Thursday, December 15, 2011


The republic of Maldives, a low lying archipelago of small Islands in the Indian Ocean. Maldives is located in the laccadive sea, approximately 700 kilometers south-west of Sri Lanka and 400 kilometers south-west of India. The country is made up of 1,192 Islands scattered in an area of about 118,000 square km. All these islands are flat terrains with an average elevation of 1.2 meters above sea level. Of these islands only about 200 islands are inhabited. Positioned in the equatorial region, the country’s climate is sub-tropical.

Birds eye view of Maldivian islands

Map of Maldives
Capital City: Male'

Population (2012): 328,536

Official language: Dhivehi

Government: Presidential Republic
The President's Office

Legislature: People's Majlis
People's Majlis

Independence from United Kingdom: 26 July 1965

Currrency: Maldivian Rufiya (MVR)

Time Zone: UTC + 5

Calling code: 960

National flag:

National emblem:

National flower: Pink Rose (Rosa Polyantha)

National tree: Coconut palm (Cocos nucifera)

National fruit: Coconut (kurumba)

No comments:

Post a Comment