Saturday, December 17, 2011

Political developments in the Maldives

In the past the Republic of Maldives used to be ruled by kings and sultans. But during recent history the country has been under the leadership of the three presidents, Mohamed Amin Didi, Ibrahim Naasir and Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, respectively. The latter was in power for the past three decades.

First president of the Maldives: Mohamed Amin Didi
(In office from 1st January 1953 to 21st August 1953) 

Second president of the Maldives: Ibrahim Naasir
(In office from 11th November 1968 to 11th November 1978) 

Third president of the Maldives: Maumoon Abdul Gayoom
(In office from 11th November 1978 to 11th November 2008) 

In 2008, the country witnessed its first multi-party election. In this election, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom of Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) finally faced defeat and his challenger Mohamed Nasheed from Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) won presidency of the Republic of Maldives. President Nasheed assumed office on 11th November 2008. On 7th February 2012 president Nasheed resigned from presidency, in a coup d'etet.

Fourth president of the Maldives: Mohamed Nasheed
(In office from 11th November 2008 to 7th February 2012) 

The current president of the Maldives, Mohamed Waheed Hassan Manik assumed office on 7th February 2012.

Fifth president of the Maldives: Mohamed Waheed Hassan Manik
(Assumed office on 7th February 2012) 

1 comment:

  1. Maldives is one of the 8 nations in SAARC, where Nepal is also a member. I admit I did not know much about your country until I read your blog posts. Good job. Keep us informed.